View count: 110

EMI Program

Bilingual study plan for college students and introduction to EMI

1. Bilingual Learning Program
Focus on promoting the two major axes of "key training" and "popularization improvement", strengthen students' English ability, promote all-English courses (or EMI courses, English-Medium-Instruction Courses), and overall enhance the international competitiveness of higher education.
The performance goal setting takes student performance as the key performance indicator, including improving students' English ability and improving students' bilingual professional ability. Each school (college) at least achieves the following goals:
(1) Reaching “25-20-20” in 2024: By 2024, at least 25% of the sophomore students in Benchmark University and Benchmark College will have at least 25% of their English proficiency in listening, speaking, reading, writing, reading and writing reaching CEFR B2 or higher. At the same time, at least 20% of the second-year students and first-year master students in the whole school, more than 20% of the credits taken in the year are all English courses.
(2) Achieving "50-50-50" by 2030: By 2030, at least 50% of the sophomore students in Benchmark University and Benchmark College will be fluent and proficient in listening, speaking, reading and writing above CEFR B2, and at the same time At least 50% of sophomore students and master students have more than 50% of their credits for the year in full English courses, and promote the certification of EMI courses for graduation certificates to integrate with international and industry.

2. What is an EMI course?
The full name of EMI is English as a Medium of Instruction, that is, all-English teaching and all-English teaching. It is worth noting that speaking English in the classroom is not called EMI. Rigorous EMI teaching must include the following three conditions:
(1). What? Teaching professional subjects (such as natural sciences, statistics, psychology)
(2). How? Use English as a "teaching tool"
(3). Where? In areas where English is not native language (eg Taiwan)

浏览人次: 439

EMI计画

大专校院学生双语化学习计画与EMI简介

1. 双语化学习计画
聚焦推动「重点培育」及「普及提升」两大主轴,强化学生英语力、推动全英语课程(或称EMI课程,English-Medium-Instruction Courses),整体提升高教国际竞争力。
绩效目标设定以学生表现为关键绩效指标,包含提升学生英语能力及提升学生双语专业能力,各校(院)至少达成以下目标:
(一) 2024年达到「25-20-20」:2024年时,标竿大学与标竿学院至少有25%的大二学生,其英文能力在听说读写达到CEFR B2以上的流利精熟等级,同时全校至少有20%的大二学生与硕一学生,在其当年所修学分中的20%以上为全英语课程。
(二) 2030年达成「50-50-50」:2030年时,标竿大学与标竿学院中至少有50%的大二学生在听说读写达到CEFR B2以上的流利精熟程度,同时至少有50%的大二学生与硕士学生其当年学分中的50%以上为全英语课程,并推动毕业证书EMI修课认证,以接轨国际及产业。

2.何谓EMI课程?
EMI 全名为 English as a Medium of Instruction,即全英语教学、全英语授课。值得留意的是,并非在课堂说英语就叫做 EMI,严谨的 EMI 教学须包含以下三个条件:
(1). What? 教授专业学科(如自然科学、统计学、心理学)
(2). How? 把英语当作「教学工具」
(3). Where? 在英语非母语的地区(如台湾)